top of page

Getting Vet Hours


So, you want to be a veterinarian. You check out the DVM program requirements, and see that most, if not all, DVM programs require a minimum amount of veterinarian hours (which mean that you need to be working under the supervision of a veterinarian). Where do you begin?


Most pre-vet students rack up their hours through working as a veterinary assistant. To begin applying for a job like this, many places require experience with animals, so be sure to get some volunteering hours in at a local shelter.


Once you have some experience workings hands-on with animals, you can begin applying to jobs. Many hospitals will have a careers section on their website, where you can apply through a formal application. However, some hospitals may not have an application section on their site, or not even a website at all. In this case, cold emailing / cold calling is the best option.


A basic outline of a cold-email goes like this:


Introduction: Introduce yourself, student background, major, and mention that you're on the pre-vet track.


Body: Bring up the position of vet assistant and any prior experience you have that would make you a good addition to their team (mention specific skills).


Conclusion: Thank them for their time and mention that you've attached your resume and cover letter.


Below is a template that can be used as a guide for cold-emailing:


(Dear Dr. ___) (To Whom This May Concern),


I hope this email finds you well. My name is (First name Last name) and I am a (number) year student at UCSB, currently studying (major) and on the pre-vet track.


I am writing to express my interest in the opportunity to work at (Name of Hospital) as a veterinary assistant. My experience of (list most recent prior animal experience) for (time you worked) has taught me (applicable skills) that would greatly benefit (Name of Hospital). Additionally, I am a quick learner and am yearning to further explore the veterinary medicine field, and working at (Name of Hospital) would help me further expand my experience in animal healthcare.


I have attached my resume and a cover letter to this email. I look forward to your response, please let me know if I can provide any additional information.


Sincerely,


(First name Last Name)


If you can't find the email address of the hospital / a doctor at the hospital, cold-calling is your best bet. Follow the email template as a guide for your conversation with whoever picks up the phone.


Once you get a response, be sure to follow up and check in on the status of your application! This takes multiple tries, so don't be discouraged if you don't get a response for a couple of times.


Lastly, to prepare for your interview, be sure to check out our other blog post: https://pvmaucsb.wixsite.com/mysite/post/interviewing-for-your-first-veterinary-assistant-position


Happy applying!

bottom of page