top of page

Time Management

Updated: May 27, 2023

Time management. It’s something that most people tend to struggle with. I can for sure vouch for myself and say that time management has been something I’ve struggled with all my life. My ADHD hasn’t helped with that either. However, it is possible to turn your “bad” habits and tendencies around and become that time management pro.

First of all, do not be too hard on yourself. It takes some people weeks, months, or years to figure out what works best for them to manage their time. We are all smart and powerful in our own ways. We made it to college which goes to show that somehow we are capable of accomplishing our goals.

Some basic tips that have helped me is buying an agenda. Writing your schedule and to-do lists can really make the difference. Seeing what I have to do right in front of me rather than making a mental checklist makes all the difference. Others might prefer to use Google Calendar, or other apps that allow them to see what they have to do for that day. Jotting things down on sticky notes or anything visible to you is a reminder that you have tasks to complete.

Planning out ahead of time truly makes a difference as well. Anticipating future events and dates gives you an idea of what your schedule may look like. Whenever I receive my syllabi, I write out the midterm dates in my planner and my calendar so that I can see when things are coming up.

Now that we have covered some basic tips to try to stay organized. Let’s take a look at how to use our time wisely. If you’ve landed on this page, then most likely you are a college student that probably has so much going on. Whether it is school, study time, work, or volunteering, we all know it could be challenging to juggle it all. One of my recommendations would be to set your boundaries. Don’t bite more than you can chew. Some people are workaholics and need that constant go-go-go lifestyle. Others prefer to have more time and space to carry out their responsibilities. If you know working 20+ hours a week is too much for you, cut back if you can. I understand everyone’s situation is different and some of us may have to work more, and in that case don't feel pressured by others. I have a lot of tiny gaps in between classes and work. It gets tough because sometimes 20-45mins doesn’t allow me to get into the zone to do my school work. However, with our crazy pre-vet lives we have to do our best to use any spare time we have to keep things going. We have to use our spare time to start a project, start a reading, or review some material. It’s essential that we do that so we do not feel overwhelmed at the end of the day.

To make sure that I have enough time to complete my tasks, I start with the most difficult projects so that my mind doesn't feel too overwhelmed when completing the smaller tasks. We don’t want to feel overwhelmed, it’s not a nice feeling. Concentrate and focus on one thing at a time.

Everyone is different when it comes to how they work and you’ll find your own way that works best too. Just remember to be confident in yourself and your abilities. No one else knows yourself better than you. You have to accept your failures and mistakes and learn from them. Remind yourself of your long term goals as well. Sometimes when I’m feeling unproductive and procrastinating, I remind myself of my future goals to motivate myself to keep going.

Most importantly, reward yourself by doing things you enjoy or treating yourself to something nice. It makes doing the work much more enjoyable. And one last thing, always reach out for advice when needed. You never know when someone may inspire you to do things differently.




bottom of page